Aya Takazawa Quintet

Aya Takazawa is a Japanese trumpeter. She started playing the piano at five and the trumpet at 10 years old. She graduated from Kunitachi College of Music in Tokyo and studied under Mr. Hitoshi Kumagai who was a principal trumpeter of the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra.

After graduation from college, she took part in various music activities, including releasing a jazz CD with the all-female Tokyo Brass Unit, of which she was a leading member. The record was a big hit on the Japanese jazz music charts. In 2009, she played the solo trumpet for the first time as a Japanese trumpeter at the commemoration ceremony of the United Nations Population Fund held in New York.

Her expressive power of the trumpet received the highest praise from ambassadors of all over the world. She is now leading her own jazz band, the Aya Takazawa Quintet. Recently, she has been featured as one of the most promising trumpet players in a couple of Japanese jazz magazines such as Jazz Japan, Jazz Life, and others. In 2012, with the release of her first album, Patterns, she established a reputation as a versatile musician in jazz.

In 2012, she appeared on the "Summer Jazz" held in Hibiya-Kokaido and took part in the Night Cruise Jazz arranged by Mr. Tatsuo Sunaga (DJ). In 2013, she played with Manhattan Jazz Quintet at the Monterey Jazz Festival in Noto.

She is making a concerted effort to instruct brass bands or big bands based on Bill Adam's method. Her activities in this field include private lessons to young promising students. She has studied traditional jazz too, and she won the second prize at the Detroit Jazz Competition in 2016.

She joined Delfeayo Marsalis's Uptown Jazz Orchestra in New Orleans, she was invited to the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival with her own band.

She played with Jason Marsalis, Wes Anderson, and Kengo Nakamura from Wynton Marsalis's family, and had recording for her major debut album with them.

She has played the trumpet with many famous jazz musicians such as Akira Ohmori, Hidefumi Toki, Sei-ichi Nakamura, Kosuke Mine, Nicholas Payton, Leroy Jones, Kermit Ruffins, TOKU, Delfeayo Marsalis, Masaru Imada, John Di Martino, Hideo Ichikawa, Hector Martignon, Masahiro Sayama, Takaaki Miyanoue, Satoshi Inoue, Hideaki Kanazwa, Daiki Yasukagawa, Masahiko Oosaka, Fukushi Tainaka, and many others.